Trio Soldat

Schubert’s Fortepiano Trio

Cecilia Bernardini – violin
Marcus van den Munckhof – cello
Keiko Shichijo – fortepiano

Fortepiano, the name says it all: a keyboard instrument that can produce sound at both loud (forte) and soft (piano) volumes – a revolution for the 18th century ears, accustomed to the harpsichord. Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven wasted no time and recalibrated their musical efforts. It was booming business, and before long Schubert was also composing for the new and improved piano. Trio Soldat will play Schubert’s 2nd Trio as he himself must have heard it.