Maxwell Quartet

Beethoven’s String Quartet no. 12

Colin Scobie – violin
George Smith – violin
Elliott Perks – viola
Duncan Strachan – cello

The four members of the Maxwell Quartet love digging into the strings, and a late Beethoven Quartet is perfectly suited to this approach! When these Scotsmen – who also enjoy cutting loose with a little folk music – take on Beethoven’s String Quartet no. 12 opus 127, it’s as if they’re trying to put the eminent composer in the celebratory spotlight. In short: ‘Superb storytelling by four great communicators’ (Strad Magazine).